Hello everyone! We’ve been quiet for the last few months, but that doesn’t mean that there hasn’t been plenty to keep our individual collective members busy on other projects. Now we’re reaching out to you again to get your support for our friend Carrie.

Carrie Feldman is an activist from Minneapolis, Minnesota, who was recently subpoenaed to a federal grand jury in Iowa investigating animal rights vandalism from 2004. She is currently refusing to cooperate with the grand jury. Read more about Carrie at http://supportcarrie.wordpress.com.

On October 15, Carrie had her first appearance before the federal grand jury in Davenport, Iowa. After reading a brief statement expressing that she would not testify, she was released with a subpoena to reappear before the grand jury again on the 17th of November at 9:00 A.M. She feels it is likely that she will be held in contempt of court for continuing to remain silent at this court date. She could face jail time up to the length of the grand jury (it convenes for 12 months total, which leaves 11 remaining after her November appearance).

Here is what she told the grand jury:

First of all, I would like to state, unequivocally and most certainly for the record, that I have no intention of testifying before this grand jury. Based on information from the prosecutor indicating that I may be a target of this investigation, I am invoking my Fifth Amendment right against self-incrimination. But beyond that, I am refusing to cooperate based on a sincere belief that to do so would run counter to my deeply held convictions and values.

Grand juries were originally created to prevent arbitrary indictments, but are now used as a tool of the prosecution to gather information. Grand juries undercut basic rights supposedly granted in the Constitution by denying access to counsel and coercing testimony. They are now, and have been for some time, used to investigate and intimidate those who would express dissent.

This is only effective when we are complicit, when we are frightened, when we are divided. Today my voice may waver, as I stand alone in this room. But I know I speak with the voice of every one of my friends, loved ones, and comrades when I say this: We will not be intimidated. We will not cooperate. I have nothing more to say to you.

